In the spirit of Thanksgiving, my wife and I cannot express enough thanks for the gift that was given to us in the early evening of November 23rd. We are overjoyed to announce the birth of our second daughter, Hadley Elizabeth Randall. 6lb 9oz and 19 inches of the most beautiful bundle of joy. The most determined Thanksgiving guest since Steve Martin in Planes, Trains and Automobiles.

The day had started like any other day, and then my wife delivered the wonderful news that changed the ordinary into the extraordinary.
“We’re having a baby!” She said, contacting me from her weekly appointment at the doctors office.

“I thought you already knew?” I mused, the realisation failing to sink in.

“Today. We’re having a baby, today!” All kinds of thoughts and feelings began to rush through my mind.

“Wow. This is really happening. Right now. This is it” I spoke aloud, trying to process the moment in any way I could. “We’re trailing by a goal in a crucial Champions League tie and I’m just expected to drop everything?” You hear about these things happening to other people but you never expect them to happen to you. Until it hit me. “This is all your doing, Alexis Sanchez,” As he appeared on my screen with a body dipped in delicious caramel. “Every time my wife sees you, her uterus quivers,”

From then on the evening was filled with anxiety as I waited by the phone for the call. The occasional update teasing my anticipation as the minutes ticked by and the hours crept along at an agonising pace. Somewhere between the second bag of crisps and the third hot chocolate, I was called from the delivery room at 01:55GMT, 18:55 local, to witness the precious moment from afar.
“I don’t care what anybody says,” I thought to myself “This still constitutes as the first night shift.”

From that very moment I heard her whine, I haven’t stopped smiling since. Beautiful. Healthy. The absolute spitting image of her older sister, Ava. To see my wife kiss our baby girl for the first time is an image that will stay with me forever. On a day like today, I couldn’t think of anything to be more thankful for.

There really is nothing quite like seeing your child being born into the world. Whether it’s the first time, the second time, or even the third. To see that little girl look at you like you are their entire world is a feeling that can be found nowhere else in life.
Both mother and baby are healthy and bonding as we speak. I know that Hadley Elizabeth Randall would like to thank all of those who have followed her story over these past 9 months, and from the little Pumpkin Pie herself, a Happy Thanksgiving to all.

15174676_1439094339452859_334895430_n

