I thought I’d take this opportunity to give you all a little heads up to what you can expect from this blog in the near future. It has been a productive month on the writing front to say the least, it’s really quite exciting. Ideas have come to me whenever and wherever the feeling takes them. I’m not ashamed to say that my morning bowel movements have seen some of my most create pieces of work in years, only interrupted by my wife rapping on the door with concern.
“Honey, are you okay? We’re getting worried,”
“Five more minutes!” I cry.
We all have that one place where we achieve our best work. Some have an office, some go to the library or a nearby coffee shop, and some simply lounge on the sofa in their comfortable (I can’t be seen out of the house in these) trousers. It seems I have broken the mould as I sit with my trousers hung around my ankles with my lip curling and quivering with every strain. You’re welcome.

My stark presence in the blogging world this month has not been in vain. In my absence I have been able to produce two short stories (minor editing aside) and another work in progress, with yet more ideas to come. It fills me with huge excitement to be able to share them with you at some point in the future. It is also hugely encouraging that my wife has read the first of the two short stories, reacting with a look of shock, disgust and a genuine sense of betrayal. Much like my reaction when presented with a Fruitcake. For the love of God, these people must be stopped.

However, this is not all. I wanted to let you know that I have also jumped aboard the “30 Day Blogging Challenge” bandwagon (facepalm) and shall be bringing you thirty days of regular posts… also at a later date. For someone who has written twenty posts in three months, producing a post a day for a period of THIRTY DAYS IN A ROW is a tall task. Which is why I have been preparing these posts in advance. Is this cheating?
Being a perfectionist has its pitfalls. I can’t sleep at night if I know or even suspect that something in our home may be out of place, even by the slightest.
“Honey, we really need to go to sleep,” My wife will reason.
“I can’t!” I protest, a tear forming in the corner of my eye “I think I put one of Ava’s toys in the wrong drawer,”
The same goes for my writing. I write first drafts and edit them meticulously before committing to publishing them for the world to see. You can understand how producing thirty posts in a month is pushing my capabilities.

And so, sifting through the various 30 Day Challenges that I found wafting around on the Internet, WordPress and dare I say it, Pinterest, which is like being sucked into The Flight Of The Navigator.
“Oh, this looks interesting…” Twenty years later “Fuck!”
I have managed to piece together topics of my choosing, to at least make these thirty days as enjoyable as can be for all of us.
Watch this space.

